Vietnam Time

1/3/2018 8:59:39 AM

Six countries enter UN Security Council

Equatorial Guinea, Ivory Coast, Kuwait, Peru, Poland and the Netherlands formally joined the ranks of the non-permanent members of the United Nations Security Council on Tuesday (January 2nd) "to make a difference," the body's president said.

The U.N. Security Council, seem here in a session on North Korea, has six new members. (AFP/KENA BETANCUR)

"Peace and security are difficult to achieve," Kazakh envoy Kairat Umarov, who took the rotating presidency in January, told council members at a special ceremony. "You are going to have a real chance to make a difference."

One after the other, ambassadors representing the council's six new member countries - five men and a woman, Polish envoy Joanna Wronecka - placed their flag among those of the body's nine other members.

The U.N. Security Council has 15 members, including five with permanent seats who have the power to veto resolutions - Britain, China, France, Russia and the United States.

Three women and 12 men are among the 15 ambassadors who will soon be seated at the U-shaped table in the center of the Security Council's chamber.

In addition to Wronecka and U.S. envoy Nikki Haley, Karen Pierce will take her seat later this month as Britain's new ambassador.

The six countries who left the U.N. Security Council on December 31st are Egypt, Italy, Japan, Senegal, Ukraine and Uruguay./.

[ Back ]

Send comment