Vietnam Time

6/13/2018 10:35:53 AM

PM to attend ACMECS 8, CLMV 9 in Thailand this week

Prime Minister Nguyen Xuan Phuc will head a Vietnamese delegation to the 8th Ayeyawady-Chao Phraya-Mekong Economic Cooperation Strategy Summit (ACMECS 8) and the 9th Cambodia-Laos-Myanmar-Vietnam Summit (CLMV 9) in Bangkok, Thailand from June 15th-16th.

Prime Minister Nguyen Xuan Phuc. (Photo: VNA)

The Vietnamese government leader's attendance is made at the invitation of Thai Prime Minister Prayut Chan-o-cha and Cambodian Prime Minister Hun Sen.

ACMECS is a cooperation framework amongst Cambodia, Laos, Myanmar, Thailand and Vietnam to utilise the member countries’ diverse strengths and to promote balanced development in the sub-region. It was established in April 2003 under the initiative of then Thai Prime Minister Thaksin Shinawatra.

Vietnam officially joined the summit in 2004 during the first ACMECS ministers’ meeting, which was held in Thailand in November of that year.

The CLMV is an open cooperation mechanism aiming to promote potential and advantages of Cambodia, Laos, Myanmar and Vietnam, and call for support from other ASEAN countries and their partners for the four nations.

The CLMV Summit was first held in 2004./.

[ Back ]

Send comment